Parliament of Namibia commemorates International Day of Democracy, 15 September 2017

Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Peter Katjavivi addressing the gathering at Parliament of Namibia


  Story by Ndahafa Kaukungua

15 September is International day of Democracy thus our Parliament joined the world’s parliaments in commemorating the day. The United Nations General Assembly acknowledged the resilience and universality of the principles of democracy in November 2007 by declaring 15 September the International Day of Democracy to celebrate democracy worldwide. This is an important opportunity to engage citizens in discussion about the meaning and future directions of democracy. In 2008, around 50 parliaments each organised some form of event to mark this occasion. The Namibian Parliament also started to commemorate the International Day of Democracy on 15 September 2008.

The word “democracy” originates from two Greek words: demos, which means "the people", and kratein, which means "to rule". This "rule by the people" was first practised in Greece in the sixth century BC and has been evolving as a system of government ever since.

The theme chosen by the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) for 2017 is #StrongerDemocracies GET ENGAGED NOW. Safeguarding democracy is the responsibility of each of us. We are living in a pivotal time when the core values of democratic governance are being called into question.

Let us reverse this trend and speak out in defence of democracy! Join the Inter-Parliamentary Union campaign to protect and promote democracy. Sign the petition and take action IPU Campaign!

The Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Peter Katjavivi, yesterday in the presence of fellow Parliamentarians and staff of Parliament, launched a publication, titled: “Democracy 2030” that culminated from the youths’ commemoration of the 2016 International Day of Democracy in the National Assembly Chamber. Please log on to our website for the Speaker’s Remarks, a copy of the publication and the verbatim record of the youth’s discussions. The publication was sponsored by the Konrad Adenauer-Stiftung.

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2017 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia