Speaker supports help motion for SADC countries devasted by cyclone Idai.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Prof. Peter Katjavivi during his intervention that supported the adoption of a resolution to support SADC countries affected by Cyclone Idai


  Story by George Sanzila

Doha, Qatar - Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Prof. Peter Katjavivi who is leading the Namibian parliament delegation at the Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) Assembly has fully supported an emergency item at the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) Assembly aimed at helping the people of Mozambique, Malawi and Zimbabwe whose countries were recently devastated by Cyclone Idai.

The emergency item at the ongoing 140th IPU General Assembly in Doha, Qatar was sponsored by the Netherlands delegation. The cyclone killed over 1000 people and displaced hundreds of thousands more leaving a trail of destruction of land and infrastructure in the three countries.

In an intervention on the item, Hon. Katjavivi noted that SADC has so far contributed over US$500 000 in assistance.” The President of Namibia and the current Chairperson of SADC, His Excellency Dr. Hage Geingob has said that the economic cost and social impact of the Cyclone to the affected countries and indeed the entire region is immeasurable. SADC has contributed US$500 000 to assist the three affected countries”, said Hon. Katjavivi.


Hon. Katjavivi further implored Parliaments at the IPU to adopt the emergency item to be able to find a solution to the crisis. “We call upon the parliaments and countries represented here at the 140th IPU Assembly to assist us through the adoption of this emergency resolution and through practical assistance to our brothers and sisters in Mozambique, Malawi and Zimbabwe”, pleaded the Speaker.

Hon. Katjavivi is also expected to take part in a general debate today on the topic “Parliaments as platforms to enhance education for peace, security and the rule of law”.

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia