Members of 7th National Assembly sworn in

Members of the 7th National Assembly being sworn in.


  Story by George Sanzila

Windhoek -Hon. Peter Katjavivi and Hon. Loide Kasingo retained their positions as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly after the house went through a secret ballot last friday to elect the two presiding officers. Hon. Katjavivi received the most votes against UDF MP, Hon. Dudu Murorua while Hon. Kasingo competed with PDM lawmaker, Hon. Elma Dienda. The election of Speaker and his Deputy were preceded by the swearing in of members of the 7th National Assembly.

The 96 members will serve the National Assembly for the next five years until 2025. The President is yet to announce the additional 8 non-voting members.

Accepting his election, Hon. Katjavivi called for tolerance of diverse opinions, noting that it was necessary for a democracy. “In any democracy we can always differ in opinion. However, it is significant to recognize the diverse views, listen to and appreciate the opinions of everyone but be guided by consensus, where it is possible. Diversity enriches debate and builds a strong and healthy democracy”, noted Katjavivi.

Eleven parties are represented in the National Assembly. These are Swapo (63), UDF (2), RDP (1), RP (2), Swanu (1), APP (2), CDV (1), LPM (4), NEFF (2), NUDO (2) and PDM (16).


Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia