

PROGRAMME

INTERNATIONAL DAY OF DEMOCRACY

15 SEPTEMBER 2016

"Democracy 2030"

National Assembly Chamber

Director of Ceremonies:

Mr. Kazembire Zemburuka (Communications Practitioner)

08:30	Arrival of Guests
	National Anthem / AU Anthem
09:00-09:15	Opening Remarks – Hon. Prof. Peter H Katjavivi, Speaker
	of the National Assembly
09:15-09:25	Mr. Norman Ndeuyeeka, Member of the Children's
	Parliament – Overview of the IPU Global Conference of
	Young Parliamentarians held March 2016:
	Rejuvenating Democracy: Giving Voice to the Youth
09:25-40	Ms. Anita Kiki-Gbeho, UNDP Resident Representative –
	Perspective of the United Nations (UN) on the
	International Day of Democracy and the Sustainable
	Development Goals (SDGs)
09:40-09:55	Prof. Paul J Isaak, Chief Electoral Officer: Electoral
	Commission
	The perspective of the Electoral Commission of Namibia
	on the theme "Democracy 2030" with the focus on
	online-voting
09:55-10:10	Mr. Max Weylandt, Research Associate, Institute of
	Public Policy Research (IPPR)
	(Democracy 2030 focusing on Crowdsourced laws

10:10-10:50	Debate/Discussions
10:50-11:10	Tea-break and Drama performance on the theme "Democracy 2030"
11:10-11:25	Hon. Vipuakuje Muharukua, MP Perspective on "Democracy 2030" from a national perspective with on the Youth oriented element inherent in the theme
11:25-11:40	Mr. Patrick Sam, Acting Executive Director of the Namibia Institute for Democracy (NID Democracy & Decentralisation: The importance of Development Committee's
11:40-11:55	Hon. Steve Biko Booys,MP Perspective on "Democracy 2030" from a regional perspective focusing on the Youth oriented element inherent in the theme
11:55-12:10	Mr. Ned Sibeya, Acting Permanent Secretary: Ministry of Economic Planning "Democracy 2030" focusing on the development-oriented element, SDGs, Harambee Prosperity Plan, NDP4/5 and Vision 2030
12:10-12:50	Debate/Discussions
12:50-13:05	Closing Remarks – Hon. Marina Kandumbu (Deputy Chairperson: IPU National Group – Namibia)
13:05-14:15	LUNCH – PARLIAMENT RESTAURANT