

SECOND SESSION, SIXTH NATIONAL COUNCIL



MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Wednesday, May 12, 2021 (09:30 - 13:00) No.3 – 2021

The Council met pursuant to adjournment.

- 1.0 The Chairperson took the Chair.
- 2.0 The Chairperson read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 3.0 ELECTION OF THE FIRST AND SECOND VICE-CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE COUNCIL

Rule 17 of the National Council Standing Rules and Orders provides that after the commencement of every National Council and from time to time thereafter as necessity may arise, the Council shall elect amongst its Members as First and Second Vice-Chairpersons of the Committee of the Whole Council who shall be entitled to exercise all the powers of the Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole Council, excluding her power as Vice-Chairperson of the Council.

3.1 ELECTION OF THE FIRST VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE COUNCIL

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of First Vice-Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole Council.

Honourable Alfeus Kaushiweni Abraham, from Oshana Region, seconded by Honourable Melania Ndjago, from Erongo Region, nominated Honourable John Musialela Likando, from Zambezi Region.

Honourable Harald James Kambrude, from Hardap Region, seconded by Honourable Paul Isaak, from Hardap Region, nominated Honourable Jeremias Goeieman, from //Kharas Region.

There being no further nomination, the Chairperson suspended business for 10 minutes to give opportunity to the Clerks-at-Table to prepare the ballot papers.

The Chairperson asked the Clerks to issue each Member with a ballot paper.

Thereafter, all Members proceeded one by one to drop their folded ballots into the Ballot Box at the Table.

After all Members present casted their votes, the Clerk handed over the ballot box to the Secretary. Secretary counted the ballot papers received and announced the total (36) to the House; before counting the ballot papers for each candidate.

The Chairperson then proceeded to announce the results of the voting as follows:

Honourable John Musialela got 29 votes.

Honourable Jeremias Goeieman got 07 votes.

the Committee of the Whole Council.

3.2 ELECTION OF THE SECOND VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE COMMITTEE

OF THE WHOLE COUNCIL

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of Second Vice-Chairperson of

the Committee of the Whole Council.

Honourable Rocco Nguvauva, from Omaheke Region, seconded by Honourable Sakeus

Nangula, from Oshikoto Region, nominated Honourable Emma Tangi Muteka, from

Khomas Region.

There being no second nomination, the Chairperson declared Honourable Muteka duly

elected as Second Vice-Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole Council.

4.0 ANNOUNCEMENTS

4.1 Names of the Members appointed to serve on the Standing Committees

In terms of Rule 166 of the National Council Standing Rules and Orders the Steering

Committee shall appoint Members who shall serve on the Council's Standing

Committees. Subsequent to this Rule, the Steering Committee met on Tuesday, 11

May 2021, to appoint Members to various Standing Committees.

In turn, Rule 168 provides that the names of the Members appointed to serve on the

Standing Committees shall be announced by the Presiding Officer. The Chairperson,

therefore announced, in accordance with Rule 168, the names of Members appointed to

the Standing Committees as follows:

A. Standing Committee on Education, Science, ICT and Youth Development:

1. Hon. Benson, Deriou Andred

2. Hon. **Goeieman**, Jeremias

-18-

- 4. Hon. **Nangula**, Sakeus
- 5. Hon. Sikondo, Johannes Kahonzo
- 6. Hon. Tjaveondja, Bethuel
- B. Standing Committee on Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources:
 - 1. Hon. Filipe, Elder
 - 2. Hon. Gaoseb, Richard
 - 3. Hon. !Haoseb, Joram Kennedy
 - 4. Hon. Mbangu, Paulus Nginga
 - 5. Hon. Motinga, Nicodemus Jesajas
 - 6. Hon. Mukaya, John Muchila
 - 7. Hon. Ndjago, Melania
- C. Standing Committee on Health, Social Welfare and Labour Affairs:
 - 1. Hon. Muteka, Emma Tangi
 - 2. Hon. Nambondi, Hans Linekela
 - 3. Hon. Nguvauva, Rocco
 - 4. Hon. **Iipinge**, Laurentius Makana
 - 5. Hon. Karondo, Johannes Hamba
 - 6. Hon. Lukaezi, Micky Mumbali
 - D. Standing Committee on Public Accounts and Economy:
 - 1. Hon. **Garab**, George
 - 2. Hon. Gobs, Sebastiaan Ignatius
 - 3. Hon. Kaishungu, Lonia
 - 4. Hon. **Kambrude**, Harald James
 - 5. Hon. **Kazongominja**, Peter Change Kamunguisi R.
 - 6. Hon. Shikulo, Leonard
 - 7. Hon. **Shikongo**, Abner Shikongo

- E. Standing Committee on Home Affairs, Security, Constitutional and Legal Affairs:
- 1. Hon. Hainghumbi, Elkan
- 2. Hon. Kuuoko, Tjimutambo Daniel
- 3. Hon. Likando, John Musialela
- 4. Hon. Ndjambula, Phillemon
- 5. Hon. **Uutoni**, Andreas
- F. Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Housing:
- 1. Hon. Abraham, Alfeus Kaushiweni
- 2. Hon. Isaak, Paul
- 3. Hon. **Mavara**, Phillipus Nkore
- 4. Hon. Ngunaihe, Ueutjerevi
- 5. Hon. Likuwa, Christopher
- 6. Hon. Tebele, Augustinus

4.2 MEETING VENUES FOR NATIONAL COUNCIL

The Chairperson announced in terms of Rule 169 of the National Council Standing Rules and Orders, the first meeting of a Committee shall be convened by the Secretary. In addition Rule 170(1)(2) Members of the Committee shall elect amongst them one Member as Chairperson and another Member as Vice-Chairperson.

However, the Chairperson announced the Meeting venues for the election of Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of Committees as follows:

Day and Date	Time	Committee	Venue
Wednesday, 12	14:30	Standing Committee on Public	Blue Room
May 2021		Accounts and Economy	
Wednesday, 12	14:30	Standing Committee on Home	Red Room
May 2021		Affairs, Security,	
		Constitutional and Legal	
		Affairs	
Wednesday, 12	14:30	Standing Committee on	C1
May 2021		Transport, Infrastructure and	
		Housing	
Wednesday, 12	14:30	G. Standing Committee on	G4
May 2021		Education, Science, ICT and	
		Youth Development	
Wednesday, 12	14:30	Standing Committee on	Secretary's Board
May 2021		Agriculture, Environment and	Room
		Natural Resources	
Wednesday, 12	14:30	Standing Committee on Health,	Chairperson's
May 2021		Social Welfare and	Board Room
		Labour Affairs	
Wednesday, 12	14:30	Implementation and	Day and Venue to
May 2021		Coordination Committee	be determined for
			election of Vice-
			Chairperson of
			Committee

4.3 The Chairperson formally announced the House that Hon. Johannes Hamba Karondo was duly elected on Monday, 10 May 2021 to represent the National Council as a Member of Board of Trustees on Kuleni Fund Administrators.

The Council suspended business at 10:41 and resumed business at 11:35.

5.0 NOTICES OF MOTIONS

Honourable Shiimi moved a motion without notice: That the proceedings on Votes: 01,

02, 30, 07 and 26 of the *Appropriation Bill* [B.5 – 2021] be, in accordance with Rule 26

read with Rule 30 of the Standing Rules and Orders of the National Council, not

interrupted if still under consideration at 13:00 hours.

6.0 DEBATE ON COMMITTEE STAGE

ORDER READ

Debate on Committee Stage – Appropriation Bill [B.5 – 2021] [Votes: 01, 02, 30, 07]

and 26]

The Chairperson put the question: That he leaves the Chair.

Agreed to.

The Chairperson of the National Council then called upon Honourable Kauma, the

Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole Council to take the Chair.

Hon. Kauma then took the Chair.

Council in Committee:

Votes: 01, 02, 30, 07 and **26** were put and agreed to.

Council resumed:

Hon. Kauma, the Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole Council, reported progress

and asked leave to sit again.

-22-

	13:53 until Monday, May 17, 2021 at 09:30.
Tousy Namiseb	
Secretary to the National Council	

7.0 The Chairperson, Honourable Muha adjourned the Council in terms of Rule 29(1) at