Wednesday, 15 March 2017

No. 14 – 2017

FIFTH SESSION, SIXTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

# WEDNESDAY, 15 MARCH 2017

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.

# 2. Announcement by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

In view of the forthcoming Independence Day on Tuesday, 21 March 2017, the Speaker proposed that the House will not seat on 22 March 2017, implying that the House will resume on 23 March 2017.

Agreed to.

#### 3. The Minister of Finance laid upon the Table:

Reports of the Auditor-General on the Accounts of the -

- (i) Municipality of Gobabis for the financial year ended 30 June 2015;
- (ii) Municipality of Outjo for the financial year ended 30 June 2015;
- (iii) Village Council of Gibeon for the financial years ended 30 June 2012 and 2013; and
- (iv) Village Council of Kalkrand for the financial year ended 30 June 2014 and 2015.

#### 4. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

Ms. Van den Heever (DTA) to ask the Minister of Information and Communication Technology (No. 41).

Ms. Van den Heever (DTA) to ask the Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation (No. 42).

Mr. Smit (DTA) to ask the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 43).

### 5. RULING BY THE SPEAKER:

The Speaker announced that before allowing Mr. Venaani to continue his contribution to the subject matter before the House, that both Mr. Venaani and Mr. Nujoma withdraw their offensive statements made yesterday so as to preserve the dignity of the House in terms of Rule 116(e) of the Standing rules and Orders.

Members agreed and withdrew their statements.

#### 6. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on the impact of Chinese involvement in the Namibian construction industry.

Question before the Assembly on Tuesday, 14 March 2017, as moved by Mr. Van Wyk (page 22).

Question put: That the Motion be adopted.

Objection.

House divided.

In favour of the Motion – 14 Members. Against the Motion – 53 Members. Abstaining – 1 Member.

Motion rejected.

# 7. SECOND ORDER READ:

Committee Stage – Public Private Partnership Bill [B. 24 – 2016].

The Minister of Finance moved, seconded by the Minister of Presidential Affairs: That the Assembly now goes into Committee.

Agreed to.

ASSEMBLY IN COMMITTEE:

Mr. Venaani raised an objection that the Members of his Party have not been afforded enough time to peruse the Amendments thoroughly as these were only distributed to them today. He moved that the Committee Stage be deferred.

Agreed to.

Committee Stage deferred to Thursday, 23 March 2017.

ASSEMBLY RESUMED:

Progress reported to the Speaker and leave to sit again granted.

#### 8. THIRD ORDER READ:

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – Whistleblower Protection Bill [B. 1 – 2017].

Question before the Assembly on Tuesday, 13 March 2017, as moved by the Minister of Justice (page 5).

Question put: That the Bill be read a Second Time.

Agreed to.

Whistleblower Protection Bill [B. 1 – 2017] read a Third Time

9. **FOURTH ORDER** deferred by the Minister of Justice to Thursday, 23 March 2017.

# 10. **FIFTH ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – *Regional Councils Amendment Bill* [B. 23 – 2016].

Question before the Assembly on Thursday, 9 March 2017, as moved by the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (page 29): That the Bill be read a Second Time.

On the motion of ....., seconded by ...., debate adjourned until ....., March 2017.

# 11. SIXTH ORDER READ:

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – Local Authorities Amendment Bill [B. 25 – 2016].

Question before the Assembly on Tuesday, 13 March 2017, as moved by the Minister of Justice (page 5): That the Bill be read a Second Time.

On the motion of Mr. Venaani, seconded by Mr. Muharukua, debate adjourned until Thursday, 16 March 2017.

12. In terms of Rule 99 of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 17:47 until Thursday, 16 March 2017.

**F. HARKER** Deputy Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya