

Thursday, 21 October 2021

No. 61 - 2021

#### FOURTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

## **THURSDAY, 21 OCTOBER 2021**

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcement by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Speaker announced that he has been informed by the Chief Whip of PDM that the they have withdrawn their previous communication and re-assigned the following Members to serve on the following Parliamentary Standing Committees:

Standing Committee on Public Accounts:

- (i) Hon. Pieter Mostert
- (ii) Hon. Geoffrey Mwillima
- (iii) Hon. Jan Van Wyk
- (iv) Hon. Nico Smith
- (v) Hon. Elma Dienda

# Standing Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs:

- (i) Hon. Vipuakuje Muharukua
- (ii) Hon. Thimothuis Shihumbu
- (iii) Hon. Koviao Hengari
- (iv) Hon. Diedrick Vries

# Standing Committee on Economics and Public Administration:

- (i) Hon. McHenry Venaani
- (ii) Hon. Pieter Mostert
- (iii) Hon. Nico Smit
- (iv) Hon. Celeste Becker

## Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security:

(i) Hon. Vipuakuje Muharukua

- (ii) Hon. Johannes Martin
- (iii) Hon. Elma Dienda
- (iv) Hon. Kazeongere Tjeundo

# Standing Committee of Natural Resources:

- (i) Hon. Jan Van Wyk
- (ii) Hon. Thimotuis Shihumbu
- (iii) Hon. Diedrick Vries
- (iv) Hon. Geoffrey Mwillima
- (v) Hon. Jennifer Van Den Heever

#### Standing Committee on Human Resources and Community Development:

- (i) Hon. Elma Dienda
- (ii) Hon. Esmerelda !Aebes
- (iii) Hon. Johannes Martin
- (iv) Hon. Koviao Hengari
- (v) Hon. Diedrick Vries

# Standing Committee Information, Communication Technology and Innovation:

- (i) Hon. Jennifer Van Den Heever
- (ii) Hon. Celeste Becker
- (iii) Hon. Kazeongere Tjeundo
- (iv) Hon. Winnie Moongo

### Standing Committee on Gender Equality, Social Development and Family Affairs

- (i) Hon. Winnie Moongo
- (ii) Hon. Jennifer Van Den Heever
- (iii) Hon. Celeste Becker
- (iv) Hon. Esmeralda !Aebes
- (v) Hon. Johannes Martin

The Speaker was also informed by the SWAPO Party Chief Whip that they have nominated Hon. Bertha Dinyando to serve on the Standing Committee on Economics and Public Administration.

The Speaker further reported that he was informed by the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) that they have nominated Hon. Mike Kavekotora to serve on the Standing Committee on Natural Resources.

The Speaker declared these Members as duly nominated for the respective Parliamentary Standing Committees.

#### 3. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Mr. Seibeb (LPM) to ask the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 174).
- (ii) Mr. Seibeb (LPM) to ask the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation (No. 175).

#### 4. Ministerial Statement in terms of Rule 98 of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation briefed the Assembly on Namibia's participation at the 76<sup>th</sup> Session of the United Nations General Assembly, which took place at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, and the various activities that Namibia took part in.

#### 5. QUESTIONS DEALT WITH:

- (i) Mr. Iipumbu (NEFF) asked the Minister of Public Enterprises (No. 110) *Stands over*.
- (ii) Mr. Kauandenge (NUDO) asked the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 115) *Stands over*.
- (iii) Ms. Van den Heever (PDM) asked the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 120) *Stands over*.
- (iv) Mr. Muharukua (PDM) asked the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 121) – Replied to.
- (v) Mr. Smit (PDM) asked the Minister in the Presidency (No. 126) Replied to.
- (vi) Mr. Smit (PDM) asked the Minister of Works and Transport (No. 127) Replied to.
- (vii) Ms. Van den Heever (PDM) asked the Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation (No. 129) *Replied to*.
- (viii) Mr. Van Wyk (PDM) asked the Minister of Public Enterprises (No. 135) *Stands over*.
- (ix) Mr. Seibeb (LPM) asked the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 137) *Replied to*.
- (x) Mr. Seibeb (LPM) asked the Prime Minister (No. 138) Replied to.
- (xi) Mr. Smit (PDM) asked the Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation (No. 141) *Stands over*.
- (xii) Mr. Smit (PDM) asked the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 142) *Replied to*.
- (xiii) Mr. Shuumbwa (APP) asked the Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service (No. 144) *Stands over*.
- (xiv) Ms. Hengari (PDM) asked the Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation (No. 145) *Stands over*.
- (xv) Mr. Martin (PDM) asked the Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service (No. 146) *Stands over*.
- (xvi) Ms. Moongo (PDM) asked the Deputy Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 147) *Replied to*.
- (xvii) Dr. Iijambo (SWANU) asked the Minister of Finance (No. 148) Replied to.
- 6. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 17:50 until Tuesday, 26 October 2021.

Compiled by I. Nehoya