

REMARKS BY

HONOURABLE PROF. PETER H. KATJAVIVI, MP

SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

AT THE OFFICIAL OPENING

OF THE

FIFTH SESSION OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

Your Excellency, Dr. Hage G. Geingob, President of the Republic of Namibia,

Honourable Lukas Sinimbo Muha, Chairperson of the National Council,

Your Lordship, Peter Shivute, Chief Justice of the Republic of Namibia,

Right Honourable Prime Minister, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila,

Honourable McHenry Venaani, Leader of the Official Opposition

Your Lordship Petrus Damaseb, Deputy Chief Justice,

Respected Service Chiefs,

Honourable Members of Parliament,

Fellow Citizens,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I welcome you all back Honourable Members to this joint sitting of the Parliament which signals the commencement of our parliamentary year. Last year 2021, left us with memories of our departed family members, friends and colleagues. We think of them and more recently, we mourned the loss of Honourable Katuutire Kaura, who was one of the Members of the Constituent Assembly and Founding Member of our National Assembly.

I will therefore request that we all rise for a minute of silence!!!

Tomorrow, 9 February will mark 32 years since the adoption of the Namibian Constitution by the Founding Fathers and Mothers of our Republic. It would be good to celebrate this important day in the annals of our history in a more significant way.

Rule 15 (d) of the Standing Rules and Orders of the National Assembly calls for the Head of State to officially open the Parliament at its first session every year. Let us remember that the President is a guest in this House and he should be accorded due respect. It is against this background that I wish to apologize to you, Your Excellency, for the disruption during the question time after your State of the Nation Address last year.

Without further ado, therefore, I now kindly request you all to join me as I give the floor to H.E. Dr. Hage G. Geingob, President of the Republic of Namibia, to deliver his opening statement signaling the start of the 2022 parliamentary year.

Your Excellency!