

Tuesday, 1 March 2022

No. 8 - 2022

FIFTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

TUESDAY, 1 MARCH 2022

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcement by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Speaker announced that the following Members have been designated to represent the Namibian Parliament on the following Multilateral Parliamentary Organizations.

Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

- (i) Hon. Prof. Peter Katjavivi
- (ii) Hon. Emilia Nuyoma-Amupewa
- (iii) Hon. Patience Masua
- (iv) Hon. Tjekero Tweya
- (v) Hon. Dr. Tobie Aupindi
- (vi) Hon. Sebastiaan Karupu
- (vii) Hon. Lucia Witbooi
- (viii) Hon. Nono Katjingisiua
- (ix) Hon. Johanna Kandjimi
- (x) Hon. Vincent Mareka
- (xi) Hon. Fenni Nanyeni
- (xii) Hon. Elma Dienda
- (xiii) Hon. Jennifer van den Heever
- (xiv) Hon. Nicolaas Smit
- (xv) Hon. Geoffrey Mwilima
- (xvi) Hon. Winnie Moongo
- (xvii) Hon. Diederik Vries
- (xviii) Hon. Koviao Hengari
- (xix) Hon. Elizabeth Becker
- (xx) Hon. Bernadus Swartbooi
- (xxi) Hon. Utaara Mootu

- (xxii) Hon. Josef Kauandenge
- (xxiii) Hon. Dudu Murorua
- (xxiv) Hon. Longinus Iipumbu
- (xxv) Hon. Mike Kavekotora
- (xxvi) Hon. Dr. Tangeni Iijambo
- (xxvii) Hon. Erastus Shuumbwa
- (xxviii) Hon. Mathias Mbundu
- (xxix) Hon. Gothardt Kandume

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

- (i) Hon. Natangwe Ithete
- (ii) Hon. Bertha Dinyando
- (iii) Hon. Evelyn !Nawases-Taeyele
- (iv) Hon. Leevi Katoma
- (v) Hon. Juliet Kavetuna
- (vi) Hon. Gotthard Kasuto
- (vii) Hon. Kletus Karondo
- (viii) Hon. Dr. Becky Ndjoze-Ojo
- (ix) Hon. Maria Elago
- (x) Hon. Annakletha Shikerete
- (xi) Hon. Jan van Wyk
- (xii) Hon. Elma Dienda
- (xiii) Hon. Diederik Vries
- (xiv) Hon. Winnie Moongo
- (xv) Hon. Timotheus Shihumbu
- (xvi) Hon. Elizabeth Becker
- (xvii) Hon. Esmeralda !Aebes
- (xviii) Hon. Kazeongero Tjeundo
- (xix) Hon. Johannes Martin
- (xx) Hon. Nico Smit
- (xxi) Hon. Henny Seibeb
- (xxii) Hon. Edson Isaaks
- (xxiii) Hon. Josef Kauandenge
- (xxiv) Hon. Apius !Auchab
- (xxv) Hon. Epafras Mukwilongo
- (xxvi) Hon. Mike Kavekotora
- (xxvii) Hon. Dr. Tangeni Iijambo
- (xxviii) Hon. Maria Kamutali
- (xxix) Hon. Herlinde Tjiveze

Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA)

- (i) Hon. Evelyn !Nawases-Taeyele
- (ii) Hon. Hamunyera Hambyuka
- (iii) Hon. Sebastiaan Karupu
- (iv) Hon. Helaria Mukapuli(v) Hon. Jan van Wyk
- (vi) Hon. Timotheus Shihumbu
- (vii) Hon. Koviao Hengari
- (viii) Hon. Vipuakuje Muharukua
- (ix) Hon. Pieter Mostert
- (x) Hon. Elizabeth Becker
- (xi) Hon. Josef Kauandenge
- (xii) Hon. Dudu Murorua
- (xiii) Hon. Longinus Iipumbu
- (xiv) Hon. Dr. Tangeni Iijambo

3. Mr. Amutse moved without Notice:

That on 19th October 2021 the *Access to Information Bill* was referred to the Standing Committee on Information and Communication Technology and Innovation for further consultation in terms of Rule 37(1) and (2) of the Standing Rules and Orders.

The Committee was granted extension by the Assembly until 28 February 2022, and is again requesting the Assembly to grant it a further extension until 25 March 2025 in order to finalise its report.

Question put: That the time be extended for another 30 days.

Agreed to.

4. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Mr. Kauandenge (NUDO) to ask the Prime Minister (No. 36).
- (ii) Mr. Kauandenge (NUDO) to ask the Minister of Environment, Forestry and Tourism (No. 37).
- (iii) Mr. Mwilima (PDM) to ask the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 38).
- (iv) Mr. Muharukua (PDM) to ask the Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (No. 39).

5. ORAL QUESTIONS:

- (i) Ms. Dienda (PDM) asked the Deputy Minister of Education, Arts and Culture (No. 13) *Replied to*.
- (ii) Ms. Mootu (LPM) asked the Deputy Minister of Education, Arts and Culture (No. 14) *Replied to*.
- (iii) Mr. Muharukua (PDM) asked the Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (No. 15) *Replied to*.
- (iv) Mr. Ithete (SWAPO) asked the Minister of Higher Education, Technology and Innovation (No. 16) *Replied to*.

6. FIRST NOTICE OF A MOTION:

Ms. Hengari moved, seconded by Ms. Becker:

Will *move* to reintroduce the Motion on the youth unemployment crisis in Namibia, its ramifications, both in the short and medium to long term.

The Motion seeks:

- For Parliament to resolve that a state of emergency be declared on the youth unemployment crisis by His Excellency the President, Dr. Hage Geingob.
- To discuss and agree on a long-term and short-term interventions to resolving the crisis.

That this Motion be referred to a Parliamentary Standing Committee for further scrutiny and report back to this Assembly.

On the motion of the Deputy Minister of Works and Transport, seconded by Dr. Aupindi, debate adjourned until Thursday, 3 March 2022.

7. On the motion of the Prime Minister, seconded by the Minister of Industrialisation and Trade, the Assembly adjourned at 17:43 until Wednesday, 2 March 2022.

MS. L. KANDETUSecretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya