

Wednesday, 1 March 2023

No. 7 - 2023

SEVENTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

WEDNESDAY, 1 MARCH 2023

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcements by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:
 - (i) The Speaker announced to the Assembly that his office had been informed that nominations to various Parliamentary Standing Committees were made as follows:
 - 1. Committee on Standing Rules and Orders and Internal Arrangements:
 - (a) Honourable Longinus Iipumbu; and
 - (b) Honourable Gotthard Kandume
 - 2. Standing Committee on Natural Resources:
 - (a) Hon. Jerry Ekandjo
 - 3. Standing Committee on Public Accounts:
 - (a) Honourable Annakletha Sikerete; and
 - (b) Honourable Jerry Ekandjo
 - (ii) The Speaker further announced that his office was also informed by the Chief Whip of the SWAPO party of the following nominations:

- **1. Honourable Ephraim Nekongo:** to serve on the Standing Committee on Gender Equality, Social Development and Family Affairs:
- **2. Honourable Fenny Nanyeni**: to serve on the Standing Committee on Public Accounts; and
- **3. Honourable Bertha Dinyando:** to serve on the Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) National Group.
- (iii) Lastly, the Speaker announced that the Chief Whip of PDM Party also informed his office, that they have withdrew **Honourable Vipuakuje Muharukua** and **Honourable Inna Hengari** from the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders and Internal Arrangements, and nominated **Honourable Jennifer Van Den Heever** and **Honourable Maximalliant Katjimune** to replace these two Members on the said Committee.

Additional nominations by the PDM Party were made as follows:

- **1. Honourable Charmaine Tjirare** and **Honourable Lukas Hamata** to serve on the Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) National Group;
- **2. Honourable Mike Venaani** and **Honourable Reggie Diergaardt** on the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) Namibia Branch; and
- **3. Honourable Yvette Araes** and **Honourable Maximillant Katjimune** on Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA) Namibian Chapter.

The Speaker declared all these Members as duly elected to the said Standing Committees and Multilateral Parliamentary Organizations.

3. The Minister of Education, Arts and Culture laid upon the Table for note-taking:

National Conference on Education Report of the Ministry of Education, Arts and Culture for the year 2022.

4. **SECOND AND THIRD NOTICE OF A MOTION** deferred by Hon. Dienda on behalf of Hon. Smit to Wednesday, 8 March 2023.

5. **FOURTH NOTICE OF A MOTION:**

Hon. Kavekotora moved, seconded by Hon. Murorua:

That this Assembly –

Deliberate and find *solutions* to the devastating effect the increasing seal population has on the sustainable harvesting of our fish stock.

Our fish is facing depletion if remedial actions are not taken as a matter of urgency.

That this Motion be referred to a relevant Parliamentary Standing Committee for further investigation and report back to this august House.

On the motion of the Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources, seconded by the Minister of Industrialization and Trade, debate adjourned until Thursday, 2 March 2023.

6. **FIFTH NOTICE OF A MOTION** deferred by the Deputy Minister of Works and Transport to Tuesday, 4 April 2023:

7. FIRST NOTICE OF A MOTION:

Rt. Hon. Prime Minister moved, seconded by the Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises:

That this Assembly -

In accordance with Article 112(3) of the Namibian Constitution –

Approves the nomination by His Excellency the President of Ms. Imelda Katjau as a Commissioner of the Public Service Commission for a period of five years.

Question put: That the appointment be approved.

Agreed to.

8. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of debate on the current deep crisis in our education sector with a view to find long term interventions to overcome post-COVID 19 impact within the education system.

Question before the Assembly on Tuesday, 21 February 2023, as moved by Hon. Swartbooi (page 8): That the Motion be adopted.

On the motion of Hon. Ndjoze-Ojo, seconded by Hon. Kandjimi, debate adjourned until Tuesday, 7 March 2023.

9. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 17:48 until Thursday, 2 March 2023.

MS. L. KANDETU

Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by H. Christiaans