

Wednesday, 8 November 2023

No. 81 - 2023

EIGHTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

WEDNESDAY, 8 NOVEMBER 2023

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcements by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(a) of the Standing Rules of and Orders:
 - (i) The Speaker announced that he has been informed by the Chief Whip of the SWAPO Party, that the Party has nominated Hon. Kletus Karondo to serve on the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security.
 - (ii) That he has also been informed by the Chief Whip of LPM that the Party has nominated Hon. Edson Isaaks to serve on the Standing Committee of Natural Resources, and Hon. Henny Seibeb to serve on the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security.
 - The Speaker declared these Hon. Members as duly appointed to the said Parliamentary Standing Committees.
 - (iii) Finally, the Speaker reported that he has been informed by the Chief Whip of the SWAPO Party, that the Party has withdrew Hon. Jerry Ekandjo from the following Standing Committees:
 - Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security;
 - Committee on Natural Resources; and
 - Committee on Public Accounts; and
 - Hon. Kletus Karondo is withdrawn from the Standing Committee on Information, Communication, Technology and Innovation.

3. Hon. Dienda gave a brief highlight on the Report and laid upon the Table for note-taking:

Report of the 4^{th} Session of the International Parliamentarians Conference on the Promotion of Freedom of Religion or Belief held in Nairobi, Kenya from 2-3 May 2023.

4. Hon. Ithete gave a brief highlight on the Report and laid upon the Table for note-taking:

Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Economics and Public Administration on the Oversight Visits of Industrial Park and SME Centres in Oshana, Omusati, Ohangwena and Oshikoto Regions from 31 July to 4 August 2023.

5. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. McHenry Venaani (PDM) to ask the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 223).
- (ii) Hon. McHenry Venaani (PDM) to ask the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 224).

6. **URGENT ORAL QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Swartbooi (LPM) asked the Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources (No. 47) *Replied to*.
- (ii) Hon. Seibeb (LPM) asked the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation (No. 48) *Replied to*.
- (iii) Hon. Shekupakela (RDP) asked the Deputy Minister Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 49) *Replied to*.

7. FIRST ORDER READ:

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – *Electoral Amendment Bill* [B. 20 – 2023].

Question before the Assembly on Tuesday, 7 November 2023, as moved by the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (page 234): That the Bill be read a Second Time.

On the motion of the Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security, seconded by the Minister in the Presidency, debate adjourned until Thursday, 9 November 2023.

- 8. **SECOND ORDER** deferred by the Minister of Justice to Thursday, 9 November 2023 for her reply.
- 9. **THIRD ORDER** deferred by Hon. Isaaks on behalf of Hon. Swartbooi to Thursday, 9 November 2023.
- 10. **FOURTH ORDER** deferred by the Deputy Speaker to Thursday, 9 November 2023 for her reply.

11. **FIFTH ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on the possibility of increasing the amount payable in respect of maternity leave, extending maternity leave duration up to five months with full pay, and including paternity leave in the legislative framework.

Question before the Assembly on Wednesday, 20 September 2023, as moved by Hon. Moongo (page 185).

Question put: That the Motion be referred to a Parliamentary Standing Committee for further scrutiny and report back.

Agreed to.

12. On the motion of the Prime Minister, seconded by the Deputy Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises, the Assembly adjourned at 17:37 until Thursday, 9 November 2023.

MS. L. KANDETUSecretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya