

Tuesday, 13 February 2024

No. 3 - 2024

NINTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

## **TUESDAY, 13 FEBRUARY 2024**

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Swearing-in of a new Member in terms of Rule 20(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders:
  - (i) The Speaker announced that a vacancy has occurred in the National Assembly due to the appointment by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Namibia, of Hon. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah as Vice-President of the Republic of Namibia in terms of Article 28(1A) and (2A)(c) of the Namibian Constitution. In terms of Article 48(2) of the Namibian Constitution, the SWAPO Party has nominated Ms. Marina Kandumbu to fill the vacant position
  - (ii) The Speaker called on Chief Justice Shivute to administer the Oath to Ms. Kandumbu.
  - (iii) Chief Justice administered the Oath to Ms. Kandumbu.
  - (iv) The Speaker declared Hon. Kandumbu a duly elected Member of the National Assembly.
- 3. Announcement by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Speaker reported that he has been informed by the Chairperson of the National Council, that the Council in terms of Article 75(2) of the Constitution, considered and confirmed the following *Bills* without amendments.

- (i) Appropriation Amendment Bill [B.21 2023]; and
- (ii) Electoral Amendment Bill [B.20 2023].

In terms of Article 75(3) of the Namibian Constitution, these *Bills* were referred to His Excellency the President and were dealt under Articles 56 and 64 of our Constitution.

# 4. In compliance with Section 15 and 116 of the Electoral Act No. 5 of 2014; the Speaker laid upon the Table for discussion –

- (i) Annual Report of the Electoral Commission of Namibia for the year 2021/2022;
- (ii) Integrated Annual Report for the Electoral Commission of Namibia for the year 2022/2023;
- (iii) Performance and Post-Election Report for Moses //Garoeb Constituency By-Election, Khomas Region held in January 2023; and
- (iv) Preliminary Report for Okaku Constituency By-Election, Oshana Region held on 17 March 2023.

# 5. **URGENT ORAL QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. McHenry Venaani (PDM) asked the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 1) *Stands over*.
- (ii) Hon. Kauandenge (NUDO) asked the Minister of Justice (No. 2) Replied to.
- (iii) Hon. Shekupakela (RDP) asked the Deputy Minister of Education, Arts and Culture (No. 3) *Replied to*.

## 6. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Diergaardt (PDM) to ask the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 1).
- (ii) Hon. Diergaardt (PDM) to ask the Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (No. 2).
- (iii) Hon. Hengari (PDM) to ask the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 3).
- (iv) Hon. Hengari (PDM) to ask the Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises (No. 4).
- (v) Hon. Van Wyk (PDM) to ask the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 5).
- (vi) Hon. Vries (PDM) to ask the Prime Minister (No. 6).
- (vii) Hon. Iipumbu (NEFF) to ask the Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises (No. 7).

- (viii) Hon. Iipumbu (NEFF) to ask the Minister of Education, Arts and Culture (No. 8).
- (ix) Hon. Mukwiilongo (NEFF) to ask the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 9).
- (x) Hon. Katjimune (PDM) to ask the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation (No. 10).
- (xi) Hon. Mike Venaani (PDM) to ask the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 11).
- 7. Condolences and tributes, preceded by the Hymn (*Mukwetu*, *Genda Nawa*), were delivered by the Hon. Members in the following order:
  - (i) Hon. Natalia /Goagoses
  - (ii) Hon. John Mutorwa Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Works and Transport
  - (iii) Hon. Dr. Kalumbi Shangula
  - (iv) Hon. Dr. Albert Kawana
  - (v) Hon. Lucia Witbooi
  - (vi) Hon. Lucia Iipumbu
  - (vii) Hon. Sylvia Makgone
  - (viii) Hon. Kletus Karondo
  - (ix) Hon. Doreen Sioka to continue tomorrow
- 8. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 17:49 until Wednesday, 14 February 2024.

MS. L. KANDETU

Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya