

Tuesday, 12 March 2024

No. 12 - 2024

NINTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### **TUESDAY, 12 MARCH 2024**

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcement by the Deputy Speaker in terms of Rule 20(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Deputy Speaker reported that the Chief Whips and Party Leaders met this morning to deliberate on the parliamentary sittings for next week. The meeting proposed to have a sitting on Monday, 18 March 2024 at 14:30 and suspend the sitting for the 19<sup>th</sup> and the 20<sup>th</sup> March 2024. This will allow Members going to the 34<sup>th</sup> Independence celebration to Katima Mulilo, Zambezi Region ample time for travelling.

Question put: That the House concur to the proposed arrangement.

Agreed to.

The House will again resume its business on Tuesday, 26 March 2024 at 14:30 when the Minister of Finance will reply.

Further, the Deputy Speaker reported that the meeting also proposed that the sitting time of today be extended beyond 17:45, to allow the House to debate and adopt the Motion on the appointment of Members of the Electoral Commission of Namibia, as the deadline is Thursday, 14 March 2024.

The proposal to extend time was also agreed to.

3. The Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises laid upon the Table:

Integrated Annual Report of Namibia Ports Authority for the year 2023.

# The Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises further laid upon the Table –

Reports of the Auditor-General on the Accounts of the –

- (i) Namibia Central Intelligence Service for the financial year ended 31 March 2023;
- (ii) Fisheries Observer Fund for the financial years ended 31 March 2022 and 2023:
- (iii) Regional Council of the Oshana Region for the financial years ended 31 March 2020 and 2021;
- (iv) Regional Council of the Okavango West for the financial years ended 31 March 2017, 2018 and 2019; and
- (v) Village Council of Tses for the financial year ended 30 June 2020.

# 4. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Murorua (UDF) to ask the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 24).
- (ii) Hon. Mukwilongo (NEFF) to ask the Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises (No. 25).

#### 5. Hon. Hambyuka moved without Notice:

That the proceedings on the First Notice of the Motion, and the First Order on the Order Paper be, in accordance with Rule 99 of the Standing Rules and Orders, not interrupted if still under consideration at 17:45.

Agreed to

# 6. Ministerial Statement in terms of Rule 98 of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Minister of Mines and Energy made a Ministerial Statement in response to Hon. Seibeb's Question of last week Wednesday, 6 March 2024, when he posed a question to the Minister on allegations of awarding petroleum exploration licenses corruptly.

#### 7. **NOTICE OF A MOTION:**

Hon. Hambyuka moved, seconded by Hon. Kafula:

That this Assembly –

*Consider* and *approve* the nomination of Mr. Gerson Tjihenuna and Mr. Pius Ilende Iikwambi as member of the Electoral Commission of Namibia as nominated by His Excellency the President in terms of Section 6 (17) of 2014 (Act. 5 of 2014) of the Electoral Act for a period of five years.

Hon. Hambyuka replied, but due to a lack of 49 Members entitled to vote, the Deputy Speaker deferred to put the Question to have the Motion adopted, until tomorrow provided that there will be a voting quorum.

# 8. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – Appropriation Bill [B. 1-2024].

Question before the Assembly on Thursday, 7 March 2024, as moved by the Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises (page 15): That the Bill be read a Second Time.

On the motion of Hon. Hengari, seconded by Hon. Hamata, debate adjourned until Wednesday, 13 March 2024.

9. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 18:33 until Wednesday, 13 March 2024.

MS. L. KANDETU

Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya