

Wednesday, 6 March 2024

No. 10 - 2024

NINTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

WEDNESDAY, 6 MARCH 2024

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcement by the Speaker in terms of Rule 20(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Speaker recognised and welcomed Hon. Katrina Benz and Hon. Loide Iijambo of the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM), who were sworn in this morning by Chief Justice Peter Shivute, to replace Hon. Jan van Wyk and Hon. Frans Bertolini.

- 3. The Deputy Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises laid upon the Table:
 - (i) Annual Report of NAMRA for the financial year 2021/2022;
 - (ii) Annual Report of Namibia Post and Telecom Holdings for the financial year 2021/2022; and
 - (iii) Annual Report of Financial Literacy Initiative for the financial year ending 2022/2023.

4. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. McHenry Venaani (PDM) to ask the Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources (No. 21).
- (ii) Hon. Seibeb (LPM) to ask the Minister of Mines and Energy (No. 22).
- 5. URGENT ORAL QUESTIONS:

- (i) Hon. Shekupakela (RDP) asked the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 8) *Replied to*.
- (ii) Hon. McHenry Venaani (PDM) asked the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform (No. 9) *Replied to*.
- (iii) Hon. Ekandjo (SWAPO) asked the Deputy Speaker (No. 10) *Issue to be taken up with the Speaker*.

6. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on government to avail adequate resources for public schools to also excel like private schools.

Question before the Assembly on Tuesday, 27 February 2024, as moved by Hon. Hamata (page 14): That the Motion be adopted.

On the motion of Hon. Hengari, seconded by Hon. Dienda, debate adjourned until Thursday, 7 March 2024.

7. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 17:48 until Thursday, 7 March 2024.

MS. L. KANDETU Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya