

Tuesday, 2 April 2024

No. 19 - 2024

NINTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

TUESDAY, 2 APRIL 2024

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

1. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.

2. Hon. Kafula moved without Notice:

That the proceedings on Votes 2, 10, 13, 14, 17, 22, 23, 24 and 27 and of the *Appropriation Bill* be, in terms of Rule 103(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, not interrupted if still under consideration at 17:45.

Agreed to.

3. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Committee Stage – *Appropriation Bill* [B. 1 – 2024].

The Deputy Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises moved, seconded by Hon. Kandumbu: That the Assembly now goes into Committee.

Agreed to.

ASSEMBLY IN COMMITTEE:

The Deputy Chairperson of the Whole House Committee reported that when progress was reported on Thursday, 28 March 2024, Votes 17, 22, 22 and 24 had been introduced, while Votes 1, 4, and 26 had been agreed to. Vote 10 stood over as there was no quorum of 49 Members entitled to vote, to adopt it.

Vote 10 as discussed on Thursday, 28 March 2024, put and agreed to.

Vote 2 – Prime Minister: Introduced by the Rt. Hon. Prime Minister.

Vote 13 – Health and Social Services: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 14 – Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 27 – Sport, Youth and National Service: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 23 – Works: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 24 – Transport: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 17 – Urban and Rural Development: Discussed. Vote 17 deferred for adoption due to a lack of 49 voting Members.

Vote 22 – Fisheries and Marine Resources: Discussed. Vote 22 deferred for adoption due to a lack of 49 voting Members.

ASSEMBLY RESUMED.

Progress reported and leave given to sit again.

4. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 21:43 until Wednesday, 3 April 2024.

MS. L. KANDETUSecretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya