

Thursday, 28 March 2024

No. 18 – 2024

NINTH SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

THURSDAY, 28 MARCH 2024

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Works and Transport laid upon the Table:

Annual Report of the Anti-Corruption Commission for the year 2022/2023.

3. Hon. Kafula moved without Notice:

That the proceedings on Votes 1, 4, 10, 17, 22, 23, 24 and 26 and of the *Appropriation Bill* be, in terms of Rule 103(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, not interrupted if still under consideration at 12:30.

Agreed to.

4. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Committee Stage – Appropriation Bill [B. 1 – 2024].

The Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises moved, seconded by the Deputy Minister of Industrialisation and Trade: That the Assembly now goes into Committee.

Agreed to.

ASSEMBLY IN COMMITTEE:

The Deputy Chairperson of the Whole House Committee reported that when progress was reported yesterday, 27 March 2024, Votes 1, 4, 10 and 26 had been introduced.

Vote 23 – Works: Introduced by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Works and Transport.

Vote 24 – Transport: Introduced by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Works and Transport.

Vote 17 – Urban and Rural Development: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 22 – Fisheries and Marine Resources: Introduced by the Deputy Minister.

Vote 1 – President: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 4 – Auditor-General: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 26 – National Planning Commission: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 10 - Education, Arts and Culture: Discussed but due to a lack of a voting quorum, it stands deferred for adoption.

ASSEMBLY RESUMED.

Progress reported and leave given to sit again.

5. In terms of Rule 99(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 13:56 until Tuesday, 2 April 2024.

MS. L. KANDETU Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya