

Thursday, 20 March 2025

No. 1 - 2025

FIRST SESSION, EIGHTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

ATIONAL ASSEMBLT

THURSDAY, 20 MARCH 2025

The Assembly met in terms of Rule 55 of the Namibian Constitution.

1. SWEARING-IN:

The Acting Secretary called on the Chief Justice Peter Shivute to administer the swearing-in of the new Members.

The Chief Justice administered the Oath and also the Affirmation to the 96 who will constitute the Eighth Parliament and declared them as duly elected Members of the national Assembly.

2. Election of the Speaker:

The Acting Secretary of the national Assembly, acting as the Chairperson, announced that the National Assembly shall proceed to elect the Speaker in terms of Article 51(1) of the Namibian Constitution, and of Rule 26(2) of the Standing Rules and Orders of the National Assembly.

In terms of Rule 26(3) of the Standing Rules and Orders, Hon. Shaningwa, seconded by Hon. Shifeta and Hon. Mubita, proposed that Hon. Kuugongelwa-Amadhila be the Speaker of the National Assembly. The proposed nomination was accepted by Hon. Kuugongelwa-Amadhila.

Further, Hon. Nashinge, seconded by Hon. Mootu, proposed Hon.Swartbooi to be the Speaker of the National Assembly. The proposed nomination was accepted by Hon. Swartbooi.

Also, Hon. Amupanda, seconded by Hon. Thomas, proposed Hon. Ngurare to be the Speaker of the National Assembly. The proposed nomination was rejected by Hon. Ngurare.

In terms of Rule 26(6) of the Standing Rules and Orders, a vote by secret ballot was conducted for the election of the Speaker and the results were as follows:

Hon. Kuugongelwa-Amadhila received 55 votes.

Hon. Swartbooi received 40 votes.

Absent, 1 vote.

=

Hon. Kuugongelwa-Amadhila was declared by the Acting Secretary as a duly elected Speaker of the National Assembly and was called forthwith to the Chair to preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker.

3. **Election of the Deputy Speaker:**

In terms of Rule 28(1) of the Standing Rules and Orders, Hon. Herunga, seconded by Hon. Witbooi, proposed that Hon. Katamelo be the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly. The proposed nomination was accepted by Hon. Katamelo.

Further, Hon. Haikola, seconded by Hon. Thomas, proposed Hon. Venaani to be the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly. The proposed nomination was accepted by Hon. Venaani.

In terms of Rule 26(6) of the Standing Rules and Orders, a vote by secret ballot was conducted for the election of the Deputy Speaker and the results were as follows, excluding the vote of the Speaker:

Hon. Katamelo received 54 votes.

Hon. Venaani received 41 votes.

Hon. Katamelo was declared by the Speaker as a duly elected Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly.

4. In terms of Rule 155(1) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 15:42 until Tuesday, 25 March 2025.

MR. O. MUYATWA

Acting Secretary: National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya