

Tuesday, 8 April 2025

No. 5 - 2025

FIRST SESSION, EIGHTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

TUESDAY, 8 APRIL 2025

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcements by the Speaker in terms of Rule 117(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:
 - (i) In terms of Rule 30 of the Standing Rules, Orders and Internal Arrangements, the Speaker and Deputy Speaker, accompanied by their proposers and seconders and other Members of the House, must as soon as possible, after their election, present themselves to the President to inform him or her of their election and on their return to the House, the Speaker must report their presentation.
 - The Speaker reported that they presented themselves to the President, Her Excellency Dr. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah at State House on 28 March 2025. They were accompanied by Hon. Sophia Nahango Shaningwa, Secretary-General of SWAPO Party, Hon. Uahekua Herunga, the Government Chief Whip, Hon. Paula Kooper, the Deputy Chief Whip and Hon. Dr, Charles Mubita.
 - (ii) The Speaker further informed the Assembly that the Selection Committee met on Monday, 7 April 2025 in terms of Rule 3(1) of the Rules for the Establishing, Functioning and Procedures of Parliamentary Standing Committees, and resolved that the number of Members of a Standing Committee will comprise twenty-four (24) Members per Committee based on the principle of proportional representation.

The Membership of twenty-four (24) will be applied to all Standing Committees, with the exception of the Committee on Budget and Finance, Committee on Implementation, Committee on Privileges and Committee on Standing Rules and Orders and Internal Arrangement because Membership to these four Committees are predetermined by the Committee Rules.

The Speaker than called on the Government Chief Whip, Official Opposition Chief Whip and Party Whips and Representatives as stipulated in Rules 38, 39 and 40 of the Standing Rules, Orders and Internal Arrangements of the National Assembly, to nominate Members for appointment to Parliamentary Standing Committees accordingly in terms of Rule 5(1) of the Committee Rules. Submissions must reach the Secretariat by Thursday 10 April 2025 at 12h00.

The next meeting of the Selection Committee is scheduled for Friday, 11 April 2025 at 10h00, to consider submissions from political parties and appoint Members to the Committees as provided for in Rule 5 of the Committee Rules.

3. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Venaani (PDM) to ask the Rt. Hon. Prime Minister (No.12).
- (ii) Hon. Venaani (PDM) to ask the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 13).
- (iii) Hon. Emvula (LPM) to ask the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Mines and Energy (No. 14).

4. **URGENT ORAL QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Dr. Aupindi (SWAPO) asked the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 6) *Replied to*.
- (ii) Hon. Moongo (PDM) asked the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 7) *Replied to*.
- (iii) Hon. Nashinge (IPC) asked the Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (No. 8) To be put in writing.

5. Ministerial Statements in terms of Rule 136 of the Standing Rules and Orders:

(i) The Minister of International Relations and Trade informed the Assembly on the latest geopolitical developments, focusing particularly on the recent introduction of a new tariff policy by the new administration of the United States of America through the Executive Order 14257 of April 2, 2025.

The Minister said that for Namibia, the United States of America will impose so-called "reciprocal tariff" of 21% for products originating from Namibia. Unless indicated otherwise by the US Government, it can only be assumed that the tariffs will apply to all Namibian products entering the US market. The products affected by this are measure (tariffs) which include beef, fish and a number of minerals amongst others.

The Minister said the Ministry of International Relations and Trade will continue to monitor the evolving dynamics of the "America First Trade Policy", as well as its implications for non-reciprocal trade agreements.

(ii) The Minister of Works and Transport gave an update on the conversion of passenger transport road carrier permits which have been issued indefinite to two-year transitional renewable permits pending the finalisation of the amendment of the Road Transportation Act, of 1977.

This reform aims to regularise and modernise the permit system to better reflect the current operational landscape of our passenger transport sector. The indefinite permits, some dating as far back as 1978, have posed significant administrative challenges, with many found to be inactive or held by operators who no longer have roadworthy vehicles or are no longer in operation, but simply renting them out from N\$500 – N\$1000 a month, which is an illegal arrangement.

In view of the above abnormalities, the following measures are put in place

- Permits will now only be issued in favour of persons who present vehicles intended to be used to transport passengers;
- Permits will be issued in the name of the owner and the vehicle so designated;
- Permits will no longer be used as a trading commodity;
- Those with indefinite permits have a widow period ending 30 September 2025 to convert their permits to the two year transitional permits, pending the finalisation of the amendment of the Transportation Act of 1977;
- Those renting will be required to apply within the period ending 30 September 2025 and will continue to use such rented permits until they are issued with their own two year transitional permits.

6. **ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – *Appropriation Bill* [B. 6 – 2025].

Question before the Assembly on Thursday, 27 March 2025, as moved by the Minister of Finance and Social Grants Management (page 6): That the Bill be read a Second Time.

7. In terms of Rule 155(1) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 17:52 until Wednesday, 9 April 2025.

MR. O. MUYATWA

Acting Secretary: National Assembly