

Wednesday, 30 April 2025

No. 16 - 2025

FIRST SESSION, EIGHTH PARLIAMENT

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

WEDNESDAY, 30 APRIL 2025

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcement by the Deputy Speaker in terms of Rule 117(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Deputy Speaker announced that he is pleased to inform the Members of this august House that, in terms of Rule 13 of the Rules for Establishing, Functioning and Procedures of Parliamentary Standing Committees, the Parliamentary Standing Committees convened for their first meetings on Tuesday, 22 April 2025 and Wednesday, 23 April 2025, for the election of Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons of their respective Committees, in terms of Rule 14 of the Rules for Establishing, Functioning and Procedures of Parliamentary Standing Committees, as follows:

- (i) Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs and Petitions:
 - (a) Hon. Modestus Amutse (Chairperson)
 - (b) Hon. Sirkka Ausiku (Deputy Chairperson)
- (ii) Committee on International Relations, Defence and Security:
 - (a) Hon. James Uerikua (Chairperson)
 - (b) Hon. Utaara Mootu (Deputy Chairperson)
- (iii) Committee on Economy and Industry, Public Administration and Planning:
 - (a) Hon. Iipumbu Shiimi (Chairperson)
 - (b) Hon Hilma Iita (Deputy Chairperson)

(iv) Committee on Natural Resources:

- (a) Hon. Tobie Aupindi (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Tuuliki Abrahams (Deputy Chairperson)

(v) Committee on Urban and Rural Development and Land Reform:

- (a) Hon. Elifas Dingara (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Clemencia Coetzee (Deputy Chairperson)

(vi) Committee on Education, Youth, Civic Relations and Community Development:

- (a) Hon. Marlayn Mbakera (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Austin Samupwa (Deputy Chairperson)

(vii) Committee on Poverty Eradication, Labour and Industrial Relations:

- (a) Hon. Justina Jonas (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Salomon April (Deputy Chairperson)

(viii) Committee on Gender Equality, Health and Social Welfare:

- (a) Hon. Nono Kasingisua (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Ephraim Negongo (Deputy Chairperson)

(ix) Committee on Information and Communication Technology:

- (a) Hon Sebastiaan Karupu (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Fenni Nanyeni (Deputy Chairperson)

(x) **Public Accounts Committee:**

- (a) Hon. Hendrik Gaobaeb (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Martha Itope (Deputy Chairperson)

(xi) Committee on Budget and Finance:

- (a) Hon. Hilaria Mukapuli (Chairperson)
- (b) Hon. Marius Sheya (Deputy Chairperson)

The Deputy Speaker reaffirmed the declaration of these Honourable Members as the duly elected Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons and wished them all the best in steering the mandate and business of Parliamentary Standing Committees outlined in Rule 15 of Rules for Establishing, Functioning and Procedures of Parliamentary Standing Committees.

3. The Minister of Finance laid upon the Table:

Reports of the Auditor-General on the Accounts of the –

- (i) Town Council of Khorixas for the financial year ended 30 June 2017;
- (ii) Town Council of Khorixas for the financial year ended 30 June 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021;
- (iii) National Assembly for the financial years ended 31 March 2024;
- (iv) Ministry of Mines and Energy for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (v) Ministry of Defence and Veteran Affairs: Vote 31 Department of Veteran Affairs for the financial years ended 31 March 2024;

- (vi) Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform: Department of Water Affairs for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (vii) Ministry of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (viii) Electoral Commission of Namibia for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (ix) Anti-Corruption Commission for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (x) Ministry of Justice for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (xi) Ministry of Gender Equality, Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (xii) Department of Transport of the Ministry of Works and Transport for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (xiii) Ministry of Higher Education, Technology and Innovation for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (xiv) Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;
- (xv) Office of the Judiciary for the financial years ended 31 March 2024;
- (xvi) National Council for the financial year ended 31 March 2024; and
- (xvii) Ministry of Information and Communication Technology for the financial year ended 31 March 2024;

4. **NOTICE OF A QUESTION:**

Hon. Kalangula (IPC) to ask the Minister of Works and Transport (No. 35).

5. **URGENT ORAL QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Lukato (NDP) asked the Minister of Works and Transport (No. 27) *To put in writing.*
- (ii) Hon. Amupanda (AR) asked the Minister of Works and Transport (No. 28) *To put in writing*.
- (iii) Hon. Kandorozu (NUDO) asked the Minister of Works and Transport (No. 29) *Replied to*.
- (iv) Hon. Shitana (AR) asked the Minister of Defence and Veterans Affairs (No. 30) *Replied to*.

6. **Hon. Herunga moved without Notice:**

That the proceedings on Votes 07, 08, 09, 14, 15, 16, 21, 31 and 35 of the *Appropriation Bill* be, in terms of Rule 159(1) of the Standing Rules and Orders, not interrupted if still under consideration at 17:45.

Agreed to.

7. Ministerial Statements in terms of Rule 136 of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Minister of Works and Transport delivered a brief Ministerial Statement emphasizing that all companies undertaking contract work under the authority of the Ministry of Works and Transport and its agencies must comply with Namibian labour laws, particularly with respect to wages. The Minister further stated that non-compliance will result in serious consequences.

8. **ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Committee Stage – *Appropriation Bill* [B.6 – 2025].

The Minister of Finance moved, seconded by Hon. /Ui/o/oo: That the Assembly now goes into Committee.

Agreed to.

ASSEMBLY IN COMMITTEE:

The Chairperson of the Whole House Committee stated that when progress was reported on Tuesday, 29 April 2025, Votes 14, 08, 09 and 31 had been introduced and Votes 28 and 30 were discussed and agreed to. While Votes 03 and 11 were deferred to the next sitting day to allow consultations.

For introduction:

- Vote 07 International Relations and Trade: Introduced by the Minister of International Relations and Trade.
- Vote 15 Mines, Energy and Industry: Deferred till Wednesday, 7 May 2025, by the Deputy Minister of Industries, Mines and Energy.
- Vote 16 Justice: Introduced by the Minister of Justice and Labour Relations.
- Vote 21 Judiciary: Introduced by the Minister of Justice and Labour Relations.
- Vote 35 Attorney-General: Introduced by the Minister of Justice and Labour Relations.

For discussion and adoption:

- Vote 14 Labour Relations: Discussed and agreed to.
- Vote 08 Defence: Discussed and agreed to.
- Vote 31 Veterans Affairs: Discussed and agreed to.
- Vote 09 Finance: Discussed and agreed to.

ASSEMBLY RESUMED:

Progress reported and leave granted to sit again

9. In terms of Rule 155(1) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 00:20 until Tuesday, 06 May 2025.

MR. O.S MUYATWA

Acting Secretary: National Assembly

Compiled by Ms. H. Christiaans