

Wednesday, 7 May 2025

No. 18 - 2025

#### FIRST SESSION, EIGHTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

## WEDNESDAY, 7 MAY 2025

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

- 1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.
- 2. Announcement by the Speaker in terms of Rule 117(b) of the Standing Rules and Orders:

The Speaker recognised and welcomed Hon. Inge Zaamwani, who was sworn in this morning by Chief Justice Peter Shivute.

Hon. Zaamwani has been appointed by Her Excellency the President Dr. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah in terms of Article 32(5)(C) of the Namibian Constitution, and she is replacing Hon. Dr. Mac-Albert Hengari as Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries, Water and Land Reform.

On behalf of the National Assembly, the Speaker congratulated and welcomed Hon. Zaamwani as a Member of the Assembly.

# 3. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Lukato (NDP) to ask the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 39).
- (ii) Hon. Lukato (NDP) to ask the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 40).
- (iii) Hon. Lukato (NDP) to ask the Minister of Works and Transport (No. 41).

## 4. **URGENT ORAL QUESTION:**

Hon. Venaani (PDM) asked the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Mines, Energy and Industry (No. 31) – *Replied to*.

# 5. Hon. Herunga moved without Notice:

That the proceedings on Votes 13, 15, 17, 18, 23, 24, 27, 29 and 36 of the *Appropriation Bill* be, in terms of Rule 159(a) of the Standing Rules and Orders, not interrupted if still under consideration at 17:45.

Agreed to.

#### 6. **ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Committee Stage – *Appropriation Bill* [B. 6 – 2025].

The Minister of Finance moved, seconded by Hon. Klazen: That the Assembly now goes into Committee.

Agreed to.

#### ASSEMBLY IN COMMITTEE:

The Deputy Chairperson of the Whole House Committee Hon. Herunga stated that when progress was reported yesterday, 6 May 2025, Votes 13, 17, 18 and 27 had been introduced while Votes 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 9, 14, 16, 21, 26, 28, 30, 31 and 35 had been agreed to.

Vote 15- Mines, Energy and Industry: Introduced by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Mines, Energy and Industry.

Vote 23 – Works: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 24 – Transport: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 29 – Information and Communication Technology: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 36 – Gender Equality and Child Welfare: Introduced by the Minister.

Vote 13 – Health and Social Services: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 17 – Urban and Rural Development: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 18 – Environment, Forestry and Tourism: Discussed and agreed to.

Vote 27 – Sport, Youth and National Service: Discussed and agreed to.

#### ASSEMBLY RESUMED:

The Deputy Chairperson of the Whole House Committee Hon. Herunga reported progress to the Deputy Speaker, who gave approval for the Assembly to sit again.

7. In terms of Rule 155(1) of the Standing Rules and Orders, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the Assembly at 04:33 until Thursday, 8 May 2025.

Acting Secretary: National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya