

*Tuesday, 10 June 2025* No. 21 - 2025

### FIRST SESSION, EIGHTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE

# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

### **TUESDAY, 10 JUNE 2025**

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.

### 2. **NOTICES OF QUESTIONS:**

- (i) Hon. Dr. Aupindi (SWAPO) to ask the Minister of Justice and Labour Relations (No. 43).
- (ii) Hon. Vries (PDM) to ask the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries, Water and Land Reform (No. 44).
- (iii) Hon. Vries (PDM) to ask the Minister of Urban and Rural Development (No. 45).
- (iv) Hon. Mbinge-Tjeundo (PDM) to ask the Minister of Education, Innovation, Youth, Sport, Arts and Culture (No. 46).
- (v) Hon. Hengari (PDM) to ask the Rt. Hon. Prime Minister (No. 47).
- (vi) Hon. Hengari (PDM) to ask the Minister of Justice and Labour Relations (No. 48).

## 3. **URGENT ORAL QUESTIONS:**

(i) Hon. Kaaronda (SWANU) asked the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 43) – *Replied to*.

- (ii) Hon. Kaaronda (SWANU) asked the Deputy Minister of Defence and Veterans Affairs (No. 44) *Misdirected*.
- (iii) Hon. Emvula (LPM) asked the Minister of Health and Social Services (No. 45) *Replied to*.

### 4. Ministerial Statements in terms of Rule 136 of the Standing Rules and Orders:

- (i) The Minister of Works and Transport made a Ministerial Statement on the compliance with Section 64 of the Road Traffic and Transport Act, Act No. 22 of 1999 Responsibilities of Vehicle Operations in Traffic Enforcement.
- (ii) The Minister of Health and Social Services update the House on the reported recall, by the Namibia Medicines Regulatory Council (NMRC), of paracetamol syrup manufactured by Fabupharm; the unapproved import of Quinine Sulphate tablets into Namibia; and Namibia's participation in the 78<sup>th</sup> World Health Assembly as was recently reported in the Media.
- (iii) The Minister of Finance briefed the House on the outcome of the 60<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting (AMs) of the Board of Governors of the African Development Bank, held during the period 26-30 May 2025 in Abidjan, Cote D'Ivore.
- 5. **FIRST NOTICE OF A MOTION** deferred by Hon. Vries on behalf of Hon. Hengari to Tuesday, 17 June 2025.

### 6. **SECOND NOTICE OF A MOTION:**

Hon. Moongo moved, seconded by Hon. Mbinge-Tjeundo:

That this Assembly –

*Debates* this motion that seeks to critically investigate the current state of health training institutions in Namibia, with specific focus on the rapid mushrooming of such institutions across the country.

The investigation will examine the standard and quality of health training and education being offered, assess the relevance and alignment of academic programs with the actual demands and requirements of the job market, and evaluate whether graduates are being adequately prepared for professional practice. Furthermore, this motions calls for a thorough review of the criteria and processes currently employed by the Namibia Qualifications Authority (NQA) and the Health Professions Councils of Namibia (HPCNA) in the accreditation of health-related programs. The aim is to ensure that these regulatory frameworks are robust, transparent, and uphold the integrity and quality of Namibia's healthcare education system.

In essence, the intention of the Motion is two-fold: first, to sound the alarm on the unchecked mushrooming of health training institutions, and second, to critically reconsider and reform the accreditation mechanisms that permit such mushrooming – so as to protect the public, preserve professional standards, and ensure the credibility of our health sector.

That this motion be referred to the relevant Parliamentary Standing Committee for further investigations and report back.

On the motion of Hon. Hengari, seconded by Hon. Mootu, debate adjourned until Tuesday, 17 June 2025.

7. On the motion of the Prime Minister, seconded by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Industries, Mines and Energy, the Assembly adjourned at 16:47 until Wednesday, 11 June 2025.

MS. E.N KAAPANDA

Secretary: National Assembly

Compiled by Ms. H. Christiaans