Minister: Fisheries and Marine Resources


Member of Constituent Assembly (1989 – 1990); Member of National Assembly (1990 – 1995)

Legislative Profile Member of the National Assembly (1995-2020); Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources (2010- 2015); Deputy Minister of Mines and Energy (2008- 2010); Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry (1999-2008); Chairperson of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Economics; Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Accounts Deputy Chairperson (1995-1999); Member of Standing Rules and Orders (1995-1999).
Personal Born on 9 December 1957 at Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Education B.Com Economics, Business Economics and Accounting, Fort Hare University (1984); Matric, St. Joseph Training College, Dobra (1977).
Career Mining Sector: Purchasing Officer (1985-1990), Metallurgical Technician, (1978-1981) Labour Movement: Mine Workers Union of Namibia (MUN), National Secretary (1986-1988), Secretary General (1991-1995); National Treasurer (1989-1991); National Union of Namibian Workers (NUNW), SWAPO Party: Member of Central Committee (1991-to date), Member of Political Bureau (1991-1997), Regional Treasurer –Erongo Region (1978-1981). Kimberley Process Certification Scheme (KPCS), International Chairperson
Interests RGreater Equality in our socio-economic fabric of society; Stimulate growth to fight unemployment and eradicate poverty.