Prime Minister


Legislative Profile Chairman of the Constituent Assembly of the Republic of Namibia 1990; First Prime Minister of the Republic of Namibia 1990 – 2002; Chief Whip of SWAPO Party (National Assembly) 2007 – 2008; Vice President of South West Africa People’s Organization (SWAPO) since 2005; Minister of Trade and Industry 2008 – 2012; Prime Minister since 2012
Personal Born on 3 August 1941 at Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
Education Augustineum Training College 1958 – 1961; Fordham University (New York) 1964 – 1970; Graduate Faculty of the New School , New York (MA in International Relations) 1971 – 1974; Awarded the Palmes Academiques (Officer Class) by the French Government in Recognition of Valuable Service in Education 1980; Awarded Ongulumbashe Medal (SWAPO) for Bravery and Long Service 1987; Awarded LL.D Honoris Causa by Colombia College Illinois, Awarded the Second Highest Order on Cuba – Carlos Manuel de Cespedes, Awarded the Order of the Sun 1st Class for Outstanding Political Leadership by the Namibian Government 1994; Awarded LL.D (Doctorate of Laws) Honoris Causa by the University of Namibia 1997; Awarded LL.D (Doctorate of Laws) Honoris Causa by the University of Delhi, India 1995; Awarded Doctorate of Humane Letters (Honoris Causa) by the American University of Rome 1998; Ph.D. from University of Leeds 2004 University of Leeds; Awarded the Crans Montana Forum’s Prix de la Foundation for Exceptional Leadership 2012;
Career Assistant SWAPO Representative in Botswana 1963 – 1964; SWAPO Representative at the United Nations & the Americas 1964 – 1971; Political Affairs Officer, UN Secretariat 1971 – 1975; SWAPO Party’s Director of Elections 1989; Chairman of the 14th Meeting of Experts on the United Nations Programme in Public Administration and Finance 1998; Member of the International Board of Governors of the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) of Canada 2004; Executive Secretary of the Global Coalition in Washington, DC 2003 – 2004;
Interests None