SADC-PF was established in accordance with the SADC Treaty as an autonomous institution of SADC. It is a regional inter-parliamentary body composed of parliaments of the SADC region. Members of SADC_PF are Angola, Botswana, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Seychells, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbambwe.
The objectives of the SADC-PF are: promotion of multiparty democracy,good governance,gender equality, political stability,respect for the rule of law, human rights and fundamental freedoms in the region.